
1st offense = $375*
*$250 beginning July 1, 2019.

2nd offense = $1,000*
*$750 beginning July 1, 2019. 

A fine of up to $10,000 

& 14 years in prison.

Hitting a worker

Safety Tips

Penalties
Speeding

Drop it and drive.
Slow down and obey speed limits.
If possible, move over for workers.
Pay attention. Conditions can change quickly.
Give heavy vehicles room to adjust to conditions.
Remember: Traffic backups can occur at any time.
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From 2013 to 2017 in Illinois
On average, each year there were: 

5,333 work zone crashes, and

1,540 people injured as a result.

Of the 178 
work zone fatalities in 
Illinois from 2013 to 2017...

Workers are not the only ones injured or killed by work zone crashes.

Only  6 were worker 
fatalities.

In 2018, nearly 40% of 
fatal work zone crashes 

involved a heavy vehicle.
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