
Work Zone Facts for You, the Motorist
You, the motorist, are more likely to be the victim in a work zone crash instead of a worker. In Illinois,
on average from 2010 to 2014, there were over 4,500 work zone motor vehicle crashes, resulting in
nearly 1,100 injuries, and 27 fatalities with an average of 2 worker fatalities per year.

Need To Know
Distracted Driving Laws
It is illegal to e-mail, text or surf the internet while driving on Illinois roadways. Drivers are now allowed only to use
electronic communication devices in hands-free or voice-operated mode while traveling on all roadways. Drivers' 
undivided attention is crucial when travelling through highway construction and maintenance work zones and school
zones. Fines are up to $75 for the first offense and may increase to as much as $150 for multiple offenses.

Can I receive a ticket for texting or talking on my hand-held cell phone in a work zone?
Yes. Distracted driving contributes to 16% of all police-reported traffic crashes according to the National Highway Traffic
Safety Administration (NHTSA). Work zones need our complete attention. When traveling through a work zone or school zone,
keep your hands off your cell phone and keep everyone safe. (source: http://www.distraction.gov/downloads/pdfs/Distracted_Driving_2013_Research_note.pdf)

Do workers have to be present to receive a speeding ticket in a work zone?
Workers do not have to be present to receive a speeding ticket in a work zone. Regulatory construction speed limit signs are
erected in construction workzones lowering speed limits, i.e. from 70 mph or 65 mph to 55 mph or from 55 mph to 45 mph,
and apply when normal conditions do not exist (narrow lanes, edge drop-offs, lane reduction, etc.) for the motorist. This could
also apply when construction equipment or a temporary obstruction is within close proximity to open lanes of traffic. This 
reduced speed is for the safety of the motorists and is not limited to the time when workers are present. Slower speeds give
drivers more time to safely negotiate these restricted areas yet only adds seconds to the overall length of a trip. At times, when
workers are close to active traffic lanes, further restrictions may be put into place lowering the speed limit to 45 mph or less.
On average, over 90% of work zone fatalities are motorists. Obey the posted speed limit and arrive safely at your destination.

What types of signs have to be present to indicate the increased work zone fees apply 

and where can they be referenced?
Regulatory speed limit signs (black and white) with the posted speed, the increased Work Zone fine, the 
Work Zone plaque and the Photo Enforced plaque are required per legislation. The Illinois Department of
Transportation and the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority have established standards and specifi-cations
based on legislation which show the type of signs required for the reduced speed limits. Information 
regarding the Highway Standards, including signs and other traffic control related 
requirements can be found at: http://www.idot.illinois.gov/doing-business/procurements/
engineering-architectural-professional-services/Consultants-Resources/highway-standards-
and-district-specificstandards

Do I have to appear in court and what is the fine for speeding in a work zone?
Yes, court appearance is mandatory. The fines for speeding in a construction or maintenance work zone are a minimum of
$375 for the first offense and a minimum of $1000 for the second offense. If the second offense is within two years of the first
offense, the Secretary of State shall suspend the driver's license for a period of 90 days.

Are flashing lights required on speed limit signs in work zones?
Flashing lights are not required. At one time flashing lights and signs indicating "When Workers are Present" were used in Illinois.
Consistent application of these flashing lights was difficult to manage and confusion to motorists occurred. The Governor's
Work Zone Task Force recommended removing these flashing lights and using a regulatory speed limit sign for consistency.

What laws are applicable to motorists regarding work zones and where do you find them?
These can be found in the Criminal Code and Vehicle Code for the State of Illinois. These can be found and researched 
on the State of Illinois web sites. http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs2.asp?ChapterID=53 or
http://www.ilga.gov//legislation/ilcs/ilcs2.asp?ChapterID=49

When can a person be charged with reckless homicide for a crash in a work zone and what are the penalties?
Reckless homicide, a Class 3 Felony, is unintentionally killing an individual while performing the action recklessly in a work 
zone. If a reckless homicide offense occurs in a work zone it becomes a Class 2 felony with imprisonment from 3 to 14 years.
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Scott’s Law, the Move Over Law
What is Scott's Law and is it still in effect?

Scott's Law, named after Lieutenant Scott Gillen of the Chicago Fire Department who was struck and killed while assisting 
at a crash on the Dan Ryan Expressway, requires that, when approaching any emergency vehicle stopped along the roadway
(including construction vehicles and equipment), you must reduce your speed, change lanes if possible, and proceed with caution.

Do I have to appear in court and what are the fines for violating Scott's law, the Move Over Law?
A person charged with this offense must appear in court. Penalties include fines for up to $10,000 and have driving privileges
suspended for up to two years. In cases of death of another person, additional penalties can apply such as reckless homicide
which could result in imprisonment from 3 to 14 years if convicted.

Photo Enforcement in Work Zones
Why use photo speed enforcement?

Photo Speed Enforcement will be used to increase safety in work zones on Illinois highways, and to obtain voluntary compliance
by motorists to obey posted speed limits. On average, over 4,500 crashes occur in work zones per year. Motorists on average rep-
resent over 90% of the fatalities in work zones in illinois. Slower speeds will allow motorists more time to react to changed conditions.

When would photo speed enforcement be in use?
Photo speed enforcement by an automated traffic control system may operate only during those periods when workers are 
present in the construction or maintenance zone, day or night.

When workers are behind Temporary Concrete Barrier (TCB) can photo speed enforcement be used?
Photo enforcement legislation requires workers to be present. While Temporary Concrete Barriers provide positive protection 
for workers, they are not impenetrable. Vehicles have hit and broken through TCB, causing injury to workers. Also, lane width 
restrictions may require reduced speed limits to ensure the safety of the motorists. For these reasons, photo enforcement is 
permitted to be used in work zones when workers are present.

Will a special sign have to be in place for photo speed enforcement to be used?
Yes. Signs indicating that speeds are photo enforced by automated traffic control systems will be clearly posted in the area
where the systems may be in use.

Do I have an opportunity to slow down before the camera takes my picture?
Yes. In addition, the vans will have a speed indicator device that will be triggered by a separate radar and will communicate 
the vehicle's speed to the motorist. This will give the motorist one last opportunity to slow down before the camera radar is 
triggered. If the motorist does not slow down, the camera radar will be triggered. A photo of the driver, vehicle, and license 
plate will be taken. The time of day and speed will also be captured.

What if the equipment is not working correctly?
Illinois State Police will man these vans with troopers specially trained in photo radar enforcement. They will calibrate the 
equipment prior to each enforcement detail to make sure everything is working correctly.

Do I have to appear in court and what are the fines for a violation received with photo speed enforcement?
Yes, a court appearance is mandatory. The fines for speeding in a construction or maintenance work zone are the same when 
issued by any method of enforcement. There is a minimum fine of $375 for the first offense and a minimum of $1000 for the 
second offense. If the second offense is within two years of the first offense, the Secretary of State shall suspend the driver’s 
license for a period of 90 days.

What is the ticketing process?
A ticket will be processed and will be approved by the on-duty officer. Tickets will be mailed by certified mail to the registered
owner, within 14 days, who will be required to appear in court.


