Accessibility in the Public Right-of-Way

 

Providing accessible transportation in Illinois

Accessibility and IDOT

IDOT's ADA Transition Plan

IDOT’s 2015 Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Transition Plan is now available  The plan serves as a guide to further IDOT’s vision, mission, and guiding principles by outlining key actions for making Illinois transportation systems accessible to all.

IDOT ADA Design Standards

  • 424001 Perpendicular Curb Ramps
  • 424006 Diagonal Curb Ramps
  • 424011 Corner Parallel Curb Ramps
  • 424016 Mid-Block Curb Ramps
  • 424021 Depressed Corner
  • 424026 Entrance Alley Pedestrian Crossings
  • 424031 Median Pedestrian Crossings

Where a facility cannot be made fully compliant, the designer must complete a Maximum Extent Practicable (BDE Form 3101) discussing barriers to full compliance, and alternatives designs considered.

State Design Guidelines

Illinois Accessibility Code (IAC)

Federal Design Guidelines

 

ADA Policy Contact

ADA Policy

Michael Brand
2300 S. Dirksen Parkway
Springfield, IL  62764-0001
Phone: 217-782-7651
E-mail: Michael.Brand@illinois.gov

Local Roads ADA Coordinator

Tim Peters, P.E
2300 S. Dirksen Parkway
Springfield, IL  62764-0001
E-mail: Tim.Peters@illinois.gov

District 1 ADA Coordinator(s)

Carlos Feliciano or Amruta Mate
201 Center Court
Schaumburg, IL  60196-3169
E-mail: DOT.D1.ADA@Illinois.gov

District 2 ADA Coordinator

Michael Kuehn
819 Depot Avenue
Dixon, IL  61021-3546
E-mail: Michael.Kuehn@illinois.gov

District 3 ADA Coordinator

Scott Ferguson
700 East Norris Drive
Ottawa, IL  61350-1628
E-mail: Scott.Ferguson@illinois.gov

District 4 ADA Coordinator

Shana Kane
401 Main Street, STE 900
Peoria, IL  61602-1111
E-mail: Shana.Kane@illinois.gov

District 5 ADA Coordinator

Scott Neihart
13473 IL Hwy 133
P.O. Box 610
Paris, IL  61944-0610
E-mail: Scott.Neihart@illinois.gov

District 6 ADA Coordinator

Sal Madonia
126 East Ash Street
Springfield, IL  62704-4766
E-mail: Sal.Madonia3@illinois.gov

District 7 ADA Coordinator

Rob Macklin
400 West Wabash
Effingham, IL  62401-2670
E-mail: Rob.Macklin@illinois.gov

District 8 ADA Coordinator

Cecil Downing
1102 Eastport Plaza Drive
Collinsville, IL  62234-6102
E-mail: Cecil.Downing@illinois.gov

District 9 ADA Coordinator

Carrie Nelsen
State Transportation Building
P.O. Box 100
Carbondale, IL  62903-0100
E-mail: Carrie.Nelsen@illinois.gov

Rest Area ADA Coordinator

Stephanie Dobbs
2300 S. Dirksen Parkway
Springfield, IL  62764-0001
E-mail: Stephanie.Dobbs@illinois.gov

 

Accessibility Request

If you have public right-of-way accessibility concerns, please fill out our ADA complaint form. Completed forms may be mailed to:

Bureau of Design & Environment
Attn:  ADA
2300 S. Dirksen Parkway
Springfield, IL 62764

Or emailed to
dot.ada.complaint@illinois.gov