
 
 

Illinois Traffic-Related Key Events 
 
 

January         1933            Legal age for alcohol consumption established at age 21 for males and 18 for females. 
 

January         1946            Illinois safety responsibility law enacted. 
 

January 1958  BAC of 0.15 established as the level at which a driver is presumed to be under the influence of alcohol.  
  

January 1963  Legal minimum drinking age established at 21 years of age. 
 

January  1967 Driving while intoxicated (DWI) law changed to include driving under the influence of drugs.  
   

January  1967 Illegal presumption of being under the influence of alcohol lowered to 0.10. 
 

January 1968 Mandatory motorcycle helmet usage law enacted for all riders. 
 

May 1969 Motorcycle helmet usage law repealed. 
 

October 1972 Implied consent law implemented. 
 

January 1973 Legal minimum drinking age changed to allow 19 and 20-year-olds the right to purchase and consume 
beer and wine.  

  
February 1974  Maximum speed limit reduced to 55 m.p.h. 

 
October 1977  Crash reporting threshold increased to damage in excess of $250 (previously $100). 

 
January 1980  Legal minimum drinking age re-established at 21 years of age for all consumption, purchase, and 

possession of alcoholic beverages. 
 

January 1982 New driving under the influence (DUI)/implied consent law established illegal per se at 0.10 and 
toughened penalties. 

  
July  1983 Child Passenger Protection Act became effective and required children under the age of 4 to be 

secured in a child safety seat and 4 and 5-year-olds to be secured in a safety seat or by a safety belt.  
  

July 1985 Safety belt law enacted to require safety belt use by drivers and front seat passengers. Violation of the 
law is a primary offense.   

 
January  1986 Color-coded driver’s license established to distinguish between drivers under 21 years of age and 

drivers 21 and older.  
 

January  1986 Statutory summary suspension established to strengthen DUI laws. 
 

May 1987 Speed limit on rural interstates raised to 65 m.p.h. for first division vehicles and second division 
vehicles carrying less than 8,000 lbs. 

 
   
  

 



 
 

Illinois Traffic-Related Key Events 
 
 

January 1988  Safety belt law amended to make non-use of safety belts by drivers and front seat passengers a 
secondary offense.  

 
January  1990  Mandatory insurance law enacted to require minimum liability limits. 

 
January  1992  Crash reporting threshold increased to damage in excess of $500 (previously $250). 

 
April  1992  Commercial driver’s license required if operating a Class A or Class B vehicle. 
 
January  1995  Zero Tolerance law enacted for drivers under the age of 21. 
 
January 1995  Minimum fine for speeding in construction or maintenance zones or school zones doubled (to $150). 
 
August  1995  Penalties increased for drivers who do not stop when a school bus has stopped to load or unload 

passengers.  
    
November  1995  Changes in federal legislation allowed Illinois to raise speed limits on certain interstate and freeway-

type roads.  
    
January 1997   Results of blood or urine tests of drivers receiving medical treatment in hospital emergency rooms for 

injuries resulting from a crash are reportable to police for the purpose of determining alcohol and/or 
drug content.  

    
July  1997   Illegal per se lowered to 0.08 (previously 0.10). 
 
January  1998  School bus drivers caught driving a school bus with any trace of alcohol in their systems lose the 

school bus driver permit.  
 
January  1998  Graduated Driver’s License established for drivers under 21 years of age. 
 
January  1999  Use of ignition interlock devices established as a regular option for the sanction of certain repeat DUI 

offenders.  
  
August 2001  Penalties increased for repeat DUI offenders. Installation of ignition interlock devices became 

mandatory in all vehicles owned by a person committing a second or subsequent DUI offense.   
   
August  2001  Additional penalties imposed for persons convicted of DUI with a BAC of 0.16 or higher, or with a BAC 

of 0.08 or higher and a child under age 16 in the vehicle.  
 

August  2001  Penalties increased for persons convicted of a second or subsequent violation of driving with a 
suspended or revoked license. Penalties also increased for persons convicted of driving with a license 
suspended or revoked for DUI, leaving the scene of a personal injury crash, reckless homicide, or 
failure to submit to chemical testing.  

 
January  2002 Child Passenger Protection Act amended to require that children between the ages of 4 and 15 years, 

inclusive, be restrained in a safety seat or by a safety belt (previously applicable only to 4 and 5 year-
olds). Fines for failure to secure a child in a safety seat doubled. 

 



 
 

Illinois Traffic-Related Key Events 
 
 

January 2002 “Scott’s Law” enacted, requiring drivers approaching a stationary authorized emergency vehicle 
displaying flashing warning lights to yield the right-of-way by making a lane change if safe to do so, or 
otherwise reduce speed and proceed with caution. Included fines and possible license suspension for 
failure to do so.  

 
January  2002 Minimum fine doubled (to $300) for second and subsequent speed limit violations in construction or 

maintenance zones or school zones. 
 

January  2003 “Scott’s Law” extended to require drivers entering a construction or maintenance zone where workers 
are present to make a lane change if safe to do so, or if impossible or unsafe to change lanes, to 
reduce speed and proceed with caution. Violation of this provision is punishable by a fine of up to 
$10,000. DUI while committing the offense is a factor in aggravation. Driving privileges suspended for 
90 days to one year for property damage; for 180 days to two years if another person is injured; for two 
years if another person dies.  

 
January 2003  Law amended to allow for seizure and forfeiture of the vehicle of a person convicted of driving while a 

license has been suspended or revoked for DUI, leaving the scene of a personal injury crash, reckless 
homicide, or a statutory summary suspension related to use of alcohol, drugs, or intoxicating 
compounds.  

 
January 2003 Persons driving a bus for any school-related activity must have a valid school bus permit.  

 
July   2003 Statewide Traffic Stop Statistical Study established to collect data to identify racial bias. 
   
July   2003 Safety belt law amended to provide for mandatory (primary) enforcement. 
 
July 2003 Law amended to allow for seizure and forfeiture of the vehicle of a person who drives without a license 

and insurance and causes death or injury to another person. 
    
January  2004 Persons under age 18 who obtain a Graduated Driver’s License may not drive during the first 6 months 

of the license, or until the person reaches age 18, with more than one person under age 20 in the 
vehicle (siblings, step-siblings, children, and step-children excluded). 

 
June 2004 Criminal Code amended to provide that if a defendant commits reckless homicide in a construction or 

maintenance zone and kills a worker, the defendant is guilty of a Class 2 felony, punishable by 
imprisonment for 3-14 years. If two or more persons are killed, the defendant may be sentenced to 6-
28 years of imprisonment.  

 
August  2004  Automated Traffic Control Systems in Highway Construction or Maintenance Zones Act became 

effective, allowing speed limit enforcement in construction and maintenance zones through the use of 
photographs or other recorded images. 

 
August  2004 Fines and other penalties for speeding in a construction or maintenance zone increased. For a second 

or subsequent conviction within two years of the previous violation, driver’s license is suspended for 90 
days. 

 

 



 
 

Illinois Traffic-Related Key Events 
 
 

January   2005  Penalties increased for persons who leave the scene of personal injury crash. A person leaving the 
scene must report the crash at a police station or sheriff’s office within ½ hour of the crash (previously 
one hour). 

 
January  2005 Offense of bribery to obtain driving privileges created, with penalties.  
 
January 2005 Vehicle registration application or renewal must include the liability insurance policy number, expiration 

date, and name of insurer.  
 

January 2005 Reckless driving and aggravated reckless driving offenses expanded to include causing a vehicle to 
become airborne by using an incline in a roadway (such as a railroad crossing, bridge approach, or 
hill). If as a result an individual is unintentionally killed, it is a reckless homicide. If two or more are 
killed, it is a Class 2 felony.  

 
July  2005  Persons under age 18 who have an instruction permit or Graduated Driver’s License may not use a 

wireless phone while driving except for emergency purposes to contact law enforcement, health care 
provider, or emergency services agency.  

 
May 2006 Madison County, St. Clair County, Cook County, the collar counties, and the municipalities within those 

counties may establish by ordinance a photo enforcement system for red light running at intersections. 
Suspension of driving privileges is allowed as a result of 5 unpaid photo enforcement traffic violations. 
This photo enforcement system may not be used for recording speed. 

 
June  2006 Graduated Driver’s License provisions amended to require 50 (previously 25) hours of behind-the-

wheel instruction, with at least 10 of the hours at night. 
 
January  2007 Automated Traffic Control Systems in Highway Construction or Maintenance Zones Act amended to 

require proof that workers were present when a citation is issued based on evidence obtained through 
automated photo enforcement. Photo enforcement other than in such zones may not be used for 
recording speed. 

 
January 2007 Automated enforcement cameras allowed at rail grade crossings to capture photos of vehicles and 

drivers that drive around lowered gates or stop on railroad tracks.  
 
July  2007  Persons convicted of driving an uninsured vehicle, in addition to any other penalty imposed, shall have 

the driving privileges suspended for 3 months and until a $100 reinstatement fee is paid. If conviction 
for a similar violation occurs during the suspension, the driving privileges are suspended for an 
additional 6 months and until the reinstatement fee is paid. 

 
July  2007 Driver’s license cancellation for persons age 18 or younger who fail to attend school or are habitually 

truant.  
  

August   2007 Illinois Liquor Control Act amended to disallow parents/guardians to knowingly permit the consumption 
of alcohol by underage invitees at their residence. If violation leads directly or indirectly to great bodily 
harm or death of any person, violation is a Class 4 felony (previously Class A misdemeanor).  

 
 

 



 
 

Illinois Traffic-Related Key Events 
        
 
January 2008 Persons under age 21 who receive court supervision for transfer, possession, or consumption of 

alcohol are subject to a 3-month driver’s license suspension.  
    
January  2008 Graduated Driver’s License provisions strengthened. Person must have learner’s permit for at least 9 

months (previously 3 months) before GDL is issued. Persons holding a GDL may not drive during the 
first year (previously 6 months), or until reaching age 18, with more than one person under age 20 in 
the vehicle. Persons under age 19 (previously 18) may not use a wireless phone while driving except 
for emergency purposes.  

 
January 2008  The Secretary of State may allow, without fee, the parent or guardian of a person under age 18 who 

has a Graduated Driver’s License or instruction permit to view the person’s driving record online. 
 
January 2008 Child Passenger Protection Act strengthened to require any driver transporting a child to restrain the 

child in a child  passenger restraint system (previously required a driver who was not the parent or 
guardian to restrain the child only if restraint was provided by the parent or guardian). Any person 
transporting a child under age 8 in a truck or truck tractor equipped with safety belts is required to 
restrain the child in the appropriate child restraint.  

 
January  2008 Penalties increased for a driver involved in a personal injury crash who fails to stop at or as close to 

the scene as  possible or report to a nearby police station or sheriff’s office as soon as possible. 
 
June 2008 Penalties increased for reckless driving with bodily harm to a child or school crossing guard performing 

official duties.  
 
August  2008 Persons convicted of a second violation of driving with a suspended or revoked license are guilty of a 

Class 4 felony and shall serve a minimum of 30 days imprisonment or 300 hours community service if 
original suspension or revocation was for DUI or leaving the scene.  

 
August  2008 A wine bottle that has been opened but resealed for removal and transportation from a restaurant must 

be transported in the trunk of the vehicle or behind the last upright seat of a vehicle with no trunk 
(previously allowed transportation of resealed bottle in passenger compartment). 

 
January  2009 First-time DUI offenders who wish to drive during the statutory summary suspension period must have 

a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device installed on the vehicle and a Monitoring Device Driving 
Permit. Offenders who decline to obtain a MDDP and BAIID and are caught driving during license 
suspension are guilty of a Class 4 felony. Commercial vehicle drivers are not eligible for a MDDP to 
operate a commercial vehicle during the suspension period.  

 
January  2009 Crash reporting threshold increased to damage in excess of $1,500 when all drivers are insured. If any 

driver is uninsured and there is damage over $500 to any one person’s property, all drivers must 
report.   

 
January  2009 “Scott’s Law” amended to allow suspension or revocation of a person’s driving privileges for failing to 

yield the right-of-way or reduce speed for a stationary authorized emergency vehicle, if the violation 
resulted in another person’s death or injury or in damage to another person’s property.  

 

 



 
 

Illinois Traffic-Related Key Events 
 
 

January  2009 Criminal Code amended to allow a judge or jury to infer that a defendant’s act was reckless homicide 
and a Class 2 felony if the defendant also violated Scott’s Law pertaining to yielding the right-of-way to 
a stationary authorized  emergency vehicle.  

 
January  2009 Persons who enter a rail grade crossing and obstruct passage of other vehicles, pedestrians, train, or 

railroad equipment shall have driving privileges suspended, in addition to $500 fine or 50 hours 
community service.  

 
January 2009 School bus drivers must open the service door and driver’s window of the bus before crossing railroad 

tracks. 
 
January 2010 Using a device to write, send, or read an electronic communication of any kind (text messages, emails, 

etc.) is prohibited while operating a motor vehicle.  
 
January 2010 Using a wireless phone in a school speed zone or construction or maintenance zone is prohibited while 

operating a motor vehicle. 
 
January 2010 Law amended to allow for seizure and forfeiture of the vehicle driven by a person while the license is 

suspended or revoked for reckless homicide.   
 
January 2010 Maximum speed limit for trucks raised to 65 m.p.h. on interstates outside of the Counties of Cook, 

DuPage, Kane,  Lake, McHenry, and Will. 
 
January 2010 Motor vehicles not specifically designed to be operated on a public highway are subject to mandatory 

insurance provisions when operated on a street, road, or highway.  
 
July 2010 Motorists must stop and yield the right-of-way to pedestrians lawfully in a crosswalk when traffic 

signals are not in place or not in operation (previously drivers only had to yield by slowing down or 
stopping if necessary). 

 
July 2010 Driving a motor vehicle recklessly close to, toward, or near a bicyclist, pedestrian, horseback rider, or 

animal-drawn vehicle is a class A misdemeanor. If violation results in great bodily harm, permanent 
disability, or disfigurement, it is a Class 3 felony.  

 
July  2010 IDOT is required upon request to furnish copies of written crash reports to federal, state, and local 

agencies engaged in highway safety research and studies. Reports are for the privileged use of such 
agencies and shall be held  confidential.  

 
January  2011 Child Passenger Protection Act amended to increase fines to $75 for first offense (previously $50) and 

$200 for a second or subsequent offense (previously $100). If violation is for not restraining a child 
under the age of 8 in a proper restraint system, violators can avoid a first conviction if they show, in 
court, proof of completion of an instructional course on the installation of a child restraint system, in 
addition to the required possession of a proper child restraint system (previously only possession of 
the child restraint system was required). 

 
 

 



 
 

Illinois Traffic-Related Key Events 
 
 

January  2011 Driving privileges shall be immediately revoked of a person convicted of any offense against the 
provisions of the Illinois Vehicle Code or local ordinance regulating the movement of traffic that 
resulted in the death of another person (previously revocation was discretionary). The revoked 
offender may request an administrative hearing to have the revocation terminated or time reduced.  

 
January  2011 Eligibility for Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) expanded to allow transportation of elderly or disabled 

persons needing travel to/from daycare (previously allowed transportation to/from daycare for children 
only). Persons transported must live with the driver issued the RDP. 

 
January 2011 Persons charged with speeding 40 mph or more over the limit are not eligible for court supervision.  
 
January  2011 Persons convicted of reckless driving or speeding 40 mph or more over the limit may be assessed up 

to $100 (up to $500 for a second or subsequent conviction) for each agency forced to initiate an 
emergency response as a result of the violation. 

 
July 2011 Statutory Summary Revocation created (previously Secretary of State administratively suspended 

driving privileges as Statutory Summary Suspension). Refusal to submit to chemical test after being 
involved in a personal injury crash will result in the statutory summary revocation of driving privileges 
and disqualification of commercial vehicle driving privileges if the person has Commercial Driver’s 
License (CDL). Offenders may apply for reinstatement after one year of revocation.    

 
January 2012 Law strengthened to allow an employer, upon reasonable suspicion, to test a school bus driver permit 

holder for the presence of drugs, alcohol, or intoxicating compounds. If the driver refuses or test 
positive, the Secretary of State shall suspend the permit for 3 years.  

    
January 2012 Safety belt law amended to require all motor vehicle occupants to wear a safety belt unless otherwise 

exempted by law.   
   
January  2012 No person may ride in a trailer, semitrailer, farm wagon, or other vehicle while it is being towed on a 

public roadway  Unless: the occupancy of the towed vehicle is necessary to avoid personal danger due 
to extreme weather conditions or other emergency situation: the vehicle does not exceed 15 mph and 
is being used in a parade, farming-related activity, or similar activity; or the vehicle does not exceed 15 
mph and the passenger is over age 18. 

    
January  2012 In municipalities other than the City of Chicago, when the light at an intersection fails to cycle to green 

after a “reasonable period of time”, motorcycles and bicycles may proceed on a red light following the 
rules applicable at a stop sign. Municipalities with red light running equipment may not issue violations 
to such motorcyclists for disobeying a traffic control device.  

 
January  2012 Maximum speed limit for trucks raised to 65 mph on all Illinois tollways, and for all or part of highways 

(previously interstates only) having at least four lanes of traffic with a separation between the roadways 
moving in opposite directions establishing a uniform speed limit in all counties except Cook, DuPage, 
Kane, Lake, McHenry and Will. The speed limit for large trucks in those counties will remain 55 mph 

 
July  2013 Secretary of State to issue certifications to certain individuals to serve as Motorcycle Road Guards: 

allowing these certified road guards to stop and/or direct traffic in efforts of protecting large groups of 
motorcycles.    
    



 
 

Illinois Traffic-Related Key Events 
 
 

August  2013 Amend the Aggravated DUI section in the IVC, making the offense of operating a school bus for hire 
with one or more passengers an “Aggravated DUI.” 

 
August 2013 Safety belt requirements do not apply to vehicles of the fire department, Office of the Fire Marshal or 

ambulances, unless delivery of life saving measures prohibits the use of a safety belt. 
 
January  2014 Amends the Graduated Driver’s License act, citing it at “Kelsey’s Law”, stating that no GDL may be 

issued to any applicant under age 18 who has a traffic citation for which a disposition has not been  
rendered at the time of application. There prosecuting authority may request the courts to enter an 
order invalidating such driver’s license or permit if he/she is convicted of a citation resulting in the 
death or “Type A” injury of another.  

 
January  2014 Amends the Code of Corrections by prohibiting court supervision in cases which a defendant’s IVC 

charge or local ordinance violation is determined to be the cause of death.  
 
January  2014 Prohibits tracking devices to determine the location or track a person/entity but does not apply to lawful 

usage by a law enforcement agency or if given consent by the vehicle’s registered owners, 
lessor/lessee.  

 
January  2014 Amends the Distracted Driving prohibition in the IVC, establishing increased fines upon violation; set at 

$75 for the first offense, $100 for the second, $125 for a third and $150 for a fourth or subsequent 
offense. Bans the use of all hand-held cell phones and texting devices while driving. 

 
January 2014 Separate offenses for construction or maintenance zone speed violations whether or not workers are 

present.  
 
January  2014 New offense for driving while using a video device, wireless telephone, or communication device. 

Violating this section results in a Class A misdemeanor: any violation resulting in death of another, 
such driver will be charged with a Class 4 felony.  

 
January 2014 Automated Enforcement violations for passing/overtaking a school bus when loading/unloading 

children. 
 
January 2014 Raised penalties for vehicle operation with suspended license from Class 3 felony to Class 4 felony if 

the accident results in bodily harm.  
 
January  2014 Anyone convicted of or pleading guilty to DUI who had a blood test performed after refusal to a breath 

test will reimburse the cost for the administrations of that blood test; even if the test was non-
consensual. 

 
January  2014 Maximum speed limit to 70 mph outside the counties of Cook, DuPage, McHenry, Kane, Lake, and Will 

on interstate highways; 65 mph on all IDOT designated highways and 55mph for other roads, 
highways, and streets. The maximum speed limit outside of an urban district for second division 
vehicles with a gross weight of 8001 lbs or more is set at 55 mph. 

 
 

 


