# Location:

IDOT Headquarters, 2300 S Dirksen Parkway, Room 347, Springfield, IL 62764

IDOT Office of Intermodal Project Implementation, 69 W. Washington Street, Suite 2100, Chicago, IL 60602

Virtual Webex Webinar Meeting option available

# **Meeting Date and Time:**

Thursday, January 25, 2024

10:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

## Attendance:

#### **Commission Member Attendees:**

\*Asterisk indicates attendance in-person

- Erin Aleman Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning\*
- Tim Butler Illinois Railroad Association\*
- James Derwinski Commuter Rail Board\*
- Karl P. Gnadt Champaign-Urbana Mass Transit District\*
- Robert Guy, III SMART-TD\*
- Richard Harnish High Speed Rail Alliance\*
- Raymond Lai McLean County Regional Planning Commission\*
- Jason Osborn Illinois Department of Transportation\*
- Cassaundra Rouse Illinois State Highway Toll Authority\*
- Bria Scudder State of Illinois
- Brian Shanahan Transportation Communications Union\*
- P.S. Sriraj University of Illinois Chicago\*
- Senator Steve Stadelman Senate
- Brian Vercruysse Illinois Commerce Commission\*
- James Wild East-West Gateway Council of Governments\*
- Bogdan Vitas Jr. Illinois Municipal League

#### **Commission Members Not in Attendance:**

- Senator Don DeWitte Senate
- Michael Paul Dunn Jr. Region I Planning Council
- Representative Martin J. Moylan House

#### **Non-Commission Member Attendees:**

- Aaron Gold-Stein Illinois Department of Transportation\*
- Amanda Lundeen Illinois Department of Transportation
- Hannah Martin– Illinois Department of Transportation
- Kaitlyn Mitchum Illinois Department of Transportation
- Elliot Ramos Illinois Department of Transportation\*
- DeAnna Smith Illinois Department of Transportation\*
- Michael Vanderhoof Illinois Department of Transportation\*
- Janel Veile Illinois Department of Transportation\*
- Nafeel Faroogui Quandel Consultants\*
- Julia Hiatt Quandel Consultants\*
- Charles Quandel Quandel Consultants\*
- Dave Simon Quandel Consultants\*
- Peter Williams Quandel Consultants
- Janet Henderson Images\*
- Berenice Alvarez Morreale Communications\*
- Diane Bustamante Morreale Communications\*
- Mary McIlvain Morreale Communications\*
- Roger Huff
- Ben Isabel
- Chris Kopp HNTB\*
- David Phillips

## **OVERVIEW OF MEETING**

## I. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Commission Chairman Jim Derwinski began the meeting at 10:00am. The meeting proceeded with a roll call of Commission members to confirm quorum has been met which is defined as having 10 Commissioners present in-person. With 13 Commission members present in-person at either the Chicago or Springfield Illinois Department of Transportation offices and 3 present in the virtual meeting room, quorum was confirmed.

## II. MINUTES APPROVAL

The November 29<sup>th</sup> Commission meeting minutes were supplied on January 19, 2024. Chairman Derwinski asked the Commission if there were any requested changes to the minutes. With no requested changes, there was a motion to approve the minutes from the previous meeting. The minutes were approved and passed with no objections.

## III. ANNUAL REPORT UPDATE

The Annual Report was supplied to the Commission before the meeting. Chairman Derwinski asked the Commission if there were any questions or comments regarding the Annual Report. No questions or comments were received, and the Commission moved to the next agenda item.

## IV. TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE AND SUPPORT UPDATE

Prior to the Commission meeting, Quandel Consultants sent the Commission a survey to identify the Commission's needs. Quandel will present the survey results during the first workshop following the Commission meeting. An initial scope of work will be drafted and a second workshop will be scheduled to refine the Commission's needs and desires.

#### V. PUBLIC COMMENT

The meeting was open to public comment. No public comments were made.

## VI. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 10:12 a.m.

#### VII. ACTION ITEMS

No action items were identified.

Following the High-Speed Rail Commission meeting, the Commission took part in a Technical Assistance and Support Workshop from 10:30am – 12:30pm.