×

View up to date information on how Illinois is handling the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) from the Illinois Department of Public Health

Proposed Rules

Back to Resources

Proposed Rulemakings

  • Hours of Service of Drivers (92 Ill. Adm. Code 395)
    The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) of the United States Department of Transportation (USDOT) recently published a final rule amending 49 CFR 395, Hours of Service of Drivers. The Department, as it is required under 625 ILCS 5/18b-105(e), proposes to incorporate the FMCSA’s final rule by updating its incorporation of the federal regulations. Below is a summary of the key changes made by the FMCSA’s final rule. A complete copy of the final rule may be obtained by visiting www.federalregister.gov and searching for 85 FR 33396.

    Short-haul Exception
    The final rule extends the short-haul exception from 100 air-miles to 150 air-miles. In addition, the maximum duty period allowed under the short-haul exception has been increased from 12 to 14 hours.

    Sleeper Berth Requirements
    Drivers may take their required 10 hours off-duty in two periods, provided one off-duty period is at least 2 hours long and the other involves at least 7 consecutive hours spent in the sleeper berth.

    Required Break
    The 30-minute break is now only required when a driver has driven for a period of 8 hours without at least a 30-minute interruption. The break may be satisfied by any non-driving period of 30 minutes.

    Adverse Driving Conditions
    Drivers may extend the maximum driving window by up to 2 hours during adverse driving conditions.

    Illinois Register publication date: August 7, 2020;
    First notice comment period expires no earlier than September 21, 2020; Click here for the full text of the rulemaking

  • General Grantmaking (44 Ill. Adm. Code 7050)
    The Department proposes to adopt 2 CFR 200 by reference as required by Section 50(a) of the Grant Accountability and Transparency Act and 44 Ill. Adm. Code 7000.200(b).

    Illinois Register Publication Date: September 4, 2020;

    First notice comment period expires no earlier than October 19, 2020; Click here for the full text of the rulemaking

Emergency Rulemakings

  • None at this time