Anyone, 5 years of age and older, is eligible to receive the COVID-19 vaccine. Find your nearest vaccination location at vaccines.gov.

High Speed Railway Commission

The High-Speed Railway Commission Act created the High Speed Railway Commission to create a statewide plan for a high-speed rail line and feeder network connecting St. Louis, Missouri and Chicago, Illinois that includes current existing Amtrak and Metra services, connects the cities of Rockford, Moline, Peoria, and Decatur, and uses inter-city bus service to coordinate with the rail line. The Commission shall conduct a ridership study and shall make findings and recommendations concerning a governance structure, the frequency of service, and implementation of the plan.

20 ILCS 4102/  High-Speed Railway Commission Act. (ilga.gov)


The Act establishes that the Illinois Department of Transportation shall provide administrative and other support to the Commission.  The Commission shall report to the General Assembly and the Governor no later than December 31 of each year and be dissolved on January 1, 2027.

The Act states the Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of the Commission shall be elected from the Commission's membership by a simple majority vote of the total membership. Appointments have been made by the Governor. Vacancies in Commission membership shall be filled in the same manner. Total membership of the Commission consists of the number of members serving on the Commission, not including any vacant positions. A quorum consists of a simple majority of total membership and shall be sufficient to conduct the business of the Commission, unless stipulated otherwise in the bylaws of the Commission.

The Commission shall meet at least quarterly.  Members of the Commission shall receive no compensation for service as members.  The current list of appointments can be found here: Office of Executive Appointments - Appointments - Boards and Commissions Detail View (illinois.gov)

Meeting Information

May 30, 2023 Meeting

The second meeting of the High Speed Railway Commission will be held May 30, 2023 at 10am at IDOT Headquarters at 2300 S Dirksen Parkway, Auditorium.  Public attendees may register to join at this link: https://illinois.webex.com/weblink/register/r562ae9dccd31adeec74d77549cfd6601

April 11, 2023 Meeting

The inaugural meeting of the High Speed Railway Commission was held April 11, 2023 at 10am at IDOT Headquarters at 2300 S Dirksen Parkway, Room 347, Executive Conference Room.

For more information on the Illinois High-Speed Railway Commission, please contact DOT.HighSpeedRailwayCommission@Illinois.gov