Skip to main content

Agency Alert

Welcome to the new IDOT home page.  Our location has changed, please update any bookmarks.

IDOT Regions

From Alexander County in the southern tip of the state to Jo Daviess County in the northwest corner, Illinois is a melting pot of demographics, geography and environments. The needs of Illinois residents and visitors vary across the state and IDOT is committed to provide a diverse and effective transportation network to serve individual users and whole communities. IDOT ensures that every area of the state is given equal consideration when planning, programming, implementing and executing transportation projects.

IDOT operates with its central headquarters in Springfield and five transportation regions across the state. Throughout each region, IDOT strives to accomplish its primary objectives through the planning and programming of road, bridge, public transportation, rail and aviation projects. These objectives include preservation and maintenance of all existing transportation systems, upgrades to existing facilities as needed, and system expansion across all modes. The five regions host a total of nine highway districts, strategically located to best assess and oversee Illinois' transportation infrastructure.

On the interactive map to the right, please select an IDOT region to learn more! We invite you to visit these pages frequently as we strive to provide up-to-date information for all of Illinois!

Click here to view a printable IDOT region map.

Click here to view a printable IDOT region and district boundary map with county numbers.

RegionAll.jpgRegion 1Region 2Region 3Region 4Region 5