Skip to main content

Agency Alert

Welcome to the new IDOT home page.  Our location has changed, please update any bookmarks.

Scenic Byways

The National Scenic Byways Program is part of the U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Highway Administration. National Scenic Byways or All-American Byways provide historic, recreational, cultural, archeological, and natural benefits to the state of Illinois and to those traveling on Illinois roadways.  Illinois is home to seven nationally designated Scenic Byways. Only a fraction of Illinoisans are lucky enough to travel sections of these roadways let alone the entire byway as part of their daily commute.

Illinois’ seven national Scenic Byways: the Great River Road, the Lincoln Highway, Meeting of the Great Rivers, Historic National Road in Illinois, Ohio River Scenic Route, Illinois River Road and Historic Route 66 offer every traveler convenient and informative ways to experience the diversity of scenery offered throughout our great state. At least one scenic byway runs through each of the IDOT regions.

To view the state's scenic byways, please access the map below.

Learn More

Nominate a Roadway

We welcome you to visit our Community Involvement webpage for more information on how to get involved in building a more positive transportation environment for you and your community. To learn more about how to nominate a specific section of roadway in Illinois for a natural destination, please navigate to the Community Involvement 'Love the Land of Lincoln' website.