Skip to main content

Agency Alert

Welcome to the new IDOT home page.  Our location has changed, please update any bookmarks.

Secretary of Transportation

Omer Osman

Illinois’ transportation network is an economic engine for the state, and the Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT) is responsible for investing billions of dollars to build, support, and maintain modern and efficient roadways, railways, airports and transit systems. It is IDOT mission to provide safe, cost-effective transportation for Illinois in ways that enhance quality of life, promote economic prosperity, and demonstrate respect for our environment.

IDOT’s structure is oriented around what it is IDOT does as an agency – develop programs, implement projects, and support those efforts administratively and through public affairs. This organizational structure allows IDOT to serve the public and meet its core mission.

IDOT is headed by the Secretary of Transportation. The Office of the Secretary is responsible for the administration and operation of the offices within the Department. The Office of the Secretary also works closely with the Governor’s Office and the Illinois General Assembly to establish and implement Illinois’ transportation policies.

Deputy Secretary

Terrence D. Glavin

Terrence D. Glavin became deputy secretary for Administration, Diversity and Legal Affairs in 2023. He brings a wealth of experience in government management, public policy, workforce and supplier diversity, procurement, compliance, ethics, conflict and risk management, litigation, and leadership development. Prior to IDOT, he served as general counsel for the Illinois Department of Central Management Services, general counsel for Chicago’s Department of Procurement Services, assistant attorney general for the Office of the Illinois Attorney General and assistant state’s attorney for the Office of the Lake County State’s Attorney. Glavin has a bachelor’s degree in political science from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, a Juris Doctor degree from the Chicago-Kent College of Law and completed Master of Public Administration coursework at the University of Illinois-Chicago. 

Deputy Secretary

Jeremy LaMarche

Jeremy LaMarche was appointed deputy secretary for Legislative Affairs and Communications in 2023. Previously, he worked in numerous legal and policy roles with the Regional Transportation Authority, most recently serving as director of Intergovernmental Policy, where he was responsible for managing all aspects of the agency’s policy, legislative and regulatory agenda. In 2021, he was also appointed secretary to the RTA Board of Directors. Prior to joining the RTA, he served as associate counsel in the Office of the Illinois Senate President and practiced law. LaMarche graduated with a bachelor’s in political science and history from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and a Juris Doctor degree from Loyola University Chicago School of Law.