Skip to main content

Agency Alert

Welcome to the new IDOT home page.  Our location has changed, please update any bookmarks.

2013 - Awards & Recognition

Minority Participation

  • IDOT received an award for outstanding training/employment of students with disabilities in the Springfield and surrounding area.

Multi-Modal Planning

Illinois Transportation Secretary Ann L. Schneider was nominated to lead the National Freight Advisory Committee, which includes a diverse group of professionals that will provide advice and recommendations aimed at improving the national freight transportation system.

  • AASHTO Standing Committee on Rail Transportation (SCORT) appointed Secretary Schneider to US DOT as its Chair to address all policy, regulatory, safety, and enforcement issues impacting the ability of states to develop and maintain their portions of an efficient national freight and passenger rail transportation network.

  • The league of American Bicyclists "Bicycle Friendly States" publication ranked Illinois ninth among the 50 states for bicycling.

  • IDOT was awarded the 2013 Daniel Burnham Comprehensive Plan Award by the American Planning Association-Illinois Chapter for its Illinois State Transportation Plan; also known as IDOT’s Long Range Transportation Plan.


  • IDOT was awarded the TransComm – Communications Award and a Mobile World Award for its traffic safety campaign.

  • The AASHTO Subcommittee on Transportation Communication Annual Skills Contest recognized Illinois for its “IDOT Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over: Choices" ad campaign.

  • Chicago/Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences awarded an Emmy to IDOT as part of the Outstanding Achievement for Community/Public Service Announcement (PSA) - Single Spot Campaign featuring Embrace the Orange and Seymour Signs.

  • National Highway Traffic Safety Administration recognized IDOT for highest liquidation rate of federal traffic safety funding in the six state region. The Division of Traffic Safety obligated and expended over 82 percent of all federal traffic safety funding received in federal fiscal year 2012.

  • The Illinois Center for Transportation’s technical review panels (ICT) recognized Priscilla Tobias as the “Most Valuable Person” for her exemplary service as an ICT Technical Review Panel Chair at the 99th Annual Transportation and Highway Engineering Conference.

  • IDOT received the Advertiser of the Year Award by the Illinois Broadcasters Association for recognizing the value of statewide, local, over-the-air broadcasting.

Sustainable Practices

  • IDOT received one of AASHTO's 2013 Sweet Sixteen High Value Research Project awards for "Best Practices for Implementation of Tack Coat Technical Review Panel (TRP) Recommendations." 

  • IDOT received the Governor’s Sustainability Award Honorable Mention for its application of all the agency’s sustainability activities including the development of the sustainability scorecard, use of recycled materials, the upcoming development of a climate change action plan and more.