Skip to main content

Agency Alert

Welcome to the new IDOT home page.  Our location has changed, please update any bookmarks.

Controlled Routes

IDOT is only responsible for issuing permits under its jurisdiction. To begin, you must first determine the area that you are interested in advertising in, and determine if the sign is placed along a controlled route.

  • If you already know that the location is along a controlled route please proceed to the Application tab.
  • If not please utilize the map below by selecting a district or calling a district contact.

RegionAll.jpg District 1District 2District 3District 4District 5District 6District 7District 8District 9

District 1
201 West Center Court
Schaumburg, IL 60196
(847) 705-4000

District 2
819 Depot Ave.
Dixon, IL
(815) 284-2271

District 3
700 East Norris Dr.
Ottawa, IL 61350
(815) 434-6131

District 4
401 Main
Peoria, IL 61602
(309) 671-3333

District 5
13473 IL Hwy 133
P.O. Box 610
Paris, IL 61944
(217) 465-4181

District 6
126 East Ash
Springfield, IL 62704
(217) 782-7301

District 7
400 West Wabash
Effingham, IL 62401
(217) 342-3951

District 8
1102 Eastport Plaza
Collinsville, IL 62234
(618) 346-3100

District 9
State Trans. Building
P.O. Box 100
Carbondale, IL 62903
(618) 549-2171

Central Office / Bureau of Land Acquisition
2300 S. Dirksen Parkway
Springfield, IL 62764
(217) 782-6243

To obtain more information than what is located on the map, a Freedom of Information request (FOIA) will need to be submitted. Any FOIA request submitted should include precise location and description of the sign permit information being requested in order to avoid delays in processing the request. You may submit your request in writing to:

Illinois Department of Transportation
Office of Chief Counsel
2300 S. Dirksen Parkway, Room 300
Springfield, IL 62764