Skip to main content

Possible online services disruption due to Internet related outage

A worldwide technology outage is causing disruption to some State of Illinois online systems.  We are aware of this issue and are diligently working on restoration.

Agency Alert

Welcome to the new IDOT home page.  Our location has changed, please update any bookmarks.

Expressway Camera Act

The Expressway Camera Act, commonly referred to as the Tamara Clayton Expressway Camera Act, 605 ILCS 140/1 et seq., was enacted to create a program involving the Illinois State Police, the Illinois Department of Transportation, and the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority for the use of automated license plate reader cameras (ALPR) on State right-of-way for law enforcement purposes. The Illinois Department of Transportation is responsible for administering Road Funds, subject to appropriation and issuing permits when ALPRs are located on expressways or State highway systems under the jurisdiction of the Illinois Department of Transportation.

As of September 1, 2022, the Illinois State Police is currently operating the Expressway Camera Act program in Cook County. The Illinois Department of Transportation is continuing to collaborate with the Illinois State Police to expand the operation of this program to additional counties including Boone, Bureau, Champaign, DeKalb, DuPage, Grundy, Henry, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, Macon, Madison, McHenry, Morgan, Peoria, Rock Island, Sangamon, St. Clair, Will, and Winnebago.

OPS-T-12: Installation of License Plate readers within State Right-of-Way