Skip to main content

Agency Alert

Welcome to the new IDOT home page.  Our location has changed, please update any bookmarks.

Transit Safety

The Federal Transit Administration requires safety and security oversight in the states that have rail fixed guideway public transportation systems per The Moving Ahead Progress in the 21st Century Act of 2012 (MAP-21). Illinois has two such systems, the Chicago Transit Authority, operating in the six-county metropolitan Chicago area, and MetroLink light rail system operating in St. Clair County. In states where rail fixed guideway public transportation systems operate, the state is responsible for designating a State Safety Oversight Agency to fulfill the State Safety Oversight requirements.

State Safety Oversight

IDOT was designated to be the state’s oversight on January 30, 2014. Effective July 1, 2016 IDOT assumed all SSOA responsibilities from the Regional Transit Authority with regards to oversight of CTA. On January 1, 2017 IDOT assumed all SSOA responsibilities from the St. Clair County Transit District with regards to MetroLink. On August 29, 2018 IDOT became FTA-approved and certified SSO Program

IDOT’s SSO program fulfills the Federal Transit Administration State Safety Oversight rule (49 CFR Part 659), which requires states to oversee the safety and security of rail fixed guideway systems through a designated oversight agency. This FTA rule implemented a provision in the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of 1991 (49 U.S.C. 5330). IDOT is also in compliance with federal rules required by the Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century Act of 2012 and the revised State Safety Oversight rule codified as 49 CFR Part 674.

Chicago Transit Authority (CTA)

CTA is a multi-modal transit system that operates fixed-route bus and rail transit services and is the second largest public transportation system in the United States. It is the third busiest heavy-rail transit system in the country, with approximately 759,000 average weekday ridership. CTA’s rail system consists of eight rail lines, named by color and extending in all directions from downtown Chicago, with two routes with 24-hour service every day, and provides service to both of Chicago’s international airports.

Bi-State Development MetroLink

The BSD MetroLink public transportation system serves approximately 1.5 million residents of St. Clair County, Ill., and the metropolitan region of St. Louis. The MetroLink light-rail system is owned and operated by the BSD of the Missouri-Illinois Metropolitan District, known as Metro. Metro also manages the Regional MetroBus system, the Metro Call-a-Ride paratransit service, the St. Louis Downtown Airport and the tram system inside the St. Louis Gateway Arch.

With MetroLink’s service extended throughout the St. Louis area and into St. Clair County, Ill, the Bi-State Safety Oversight Agency for oversight of the BSD’s MetroLink light rail system was formally recognized on January 1, 2017 which contains Missouri Department of Transportation and Illinois Department of Transportation working together to oversee the MetroLink system.