Skip to main content

Agency Alert

Welcome to the new IDOT home page.  Our location has changed, please update any bookmarks.

About the High Speed Railway Commission

The Act establishes that the Illinois Department of Transportation shall provide administrative and other support to the Commission.  The Commission shall report to the General Assembly and the Governor no later than December 31 of each year and be dissolved on January 1, 2027.

The Act states the Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of the Commission shall be elected from the Commission's membership by a simple majority vote of the total membership. Appointments have been made by the Governor. Vacancies in Commission membership shall be filled in the same manner. Total membership of the Commission consists of the number of members serving on the Commission, not including any vacant positions. A quorum consists of a simple majority of total membership and shall be sufficient to conduct the business of the Commission, unless stipulated otherwise in the bylaws of the Commission.

The Commission shall meet at least quarterly.  Members of the Commission shall receive no compensation for service as members.  The current list of appointments can be found here: Office of Executive Appointments - Appointments - Boards and Commissions Detail View (